Rookie Catchers Of The Year

Baseball Writer's Assocation of America (BBWAA)
Rookie Of The Year

The Rookie of the Year Award, or Jackie Robinson Award as it became known in 1987, is given to the individual player from each league who has the best rookie season during his first year of eligibility. In the inaugural year, 1947, and in 1948 only one winner was selected from the Major Leagues. From 1949 on two players have been selected each year one coming from each league.

1968 Johnny Bench (CIN)   1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. (CLE)
1970 Thurman Munson (NY)   1993 Mike Piazza (LA)
1971 Earl Williams (ATL)   2008 Geovany Soto (CHN)
1972 Carlton Fisk (BOS)   2010 Buster Posey (SF)
1987 Benito Santiago (SD)        

Since 1980 the members of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) have named three rookies on their ballots. A first place vote equals five points, second place equals three points and third place gets one point. These points are totaled and the one with the most points is the winner. Eligibility requirements were set forth in 1971 and a rookie was formally defined as a player with less than one-hundred thirty at-bats or anyone with less than forty-five days on any Major League roster.

The Sporting News Rookie Of The Year

1968 Johnny Bench (CIN)   1993 Mike Piazza (LA)
1972 Carlton Fisk (BOS)   1996 Jason Kendall (PIT)
1975 Gary Carter (MON)   2008 Geovany Soto (CHN)
1987 Benito Santiago (SD)        
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. (CLE)        

Baseball Digest Rookie Of The Year

(Winner selection began in 1971)

1971 Earl Williams (ATL)   1996 Jason Kendall (PIT)
1972 Carlton Fisk (BOS)   2008 Geovany Soto (CHI)
1987 Benito Santiago (SD)   2010 Buster Posey (SF)
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. (CLE)        
1993 Mike Piazza (LA)        

Baseball Digest All-Star Rookie Catchers Of The Year

1971 Earl Williams (ATL)   1992 Todd Hundley (NYM)
1972 Carlton Fisk (BOS)   1993 Mike Piazza (LA)
1973 Darrell Porter (MIL)   1994 Javy Lopez (ATL)
1974 Steve Swisher (CHI)   1995 Charles Johnson (FLA)
1975 Gary Carter (MON)   1996 Jason Kendall (PIT)
1976 Butch Wynegar (MIN)   1997 Scott Hatteberg (BOS)
1977 Dave Skaggs (BAL)   1998 A.J. Hinch (OAK)
1978 Mike Colbern (CWS)   1999 Einar Diaz (CLE)
1979 Steve Nicosia (PIT)   2000 Mitch Meluskey (HOU)
1980 Dan Graham (BAL)   2001 Shawn Wooten (ANA)
1981 Jody Davis (CHI)   2002 Geronimo Gil (BAL)
1982 Tom Laudner (MIN)   2003 Miguel Olivo (CWS)
1983 Bob Kearney (OAK)   2004 Joe Mauer (MIN)
1984 Mike Fitzgerald (NYM)   2005 Ryan Doumit (PIT)
1985 Mark Salas (MIN)   2006 Kenji Johjima (SEA)
1986 Andy Allanson (CLE)   2007 Carlos Ruiz (PHI)
1987 Benito Santiago (SD)   2008 Geovany Soto (CHI)
1988 Damon Berryhill (CHI)   2009 Matt Wieters (BAL)
1989 Joe Girardi (CHI)   2010 Buster Posey (SF)
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. (CLE)     2011  
1991 Ivan Rodriguez (TEX)     2012  

Hall Of Fame Catchers List of Catchers All-Star Catchers Post Season League Awards Batting Fielding Records Greatest Catcher 800 Games Caught HOME - Front Page Equipment Skills & Drills Articles About Catchers Trivia Quizes Quotes Rotisserie All-American Girls Professional Baseball Links 19th Century Current Catchers Ex-Catcher Managers Feedback HOME - Front Page HOME - Front Page Miscellaneous